Netflix sets premiere date for Ratched

The One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest prequel stars Sarah Paulson as a younger version of the famous villain. 

Netflix has revealed the premiere date for Ryan Murphy’s new drama series Ratched.

All eight episodes of the One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest prequel will be available to stream on the platform from 18th September 2020. 

Set in 1947, it will explore the origin story of the film’s iconic villain Nurse Mildred Ratched (played by Murphy favourite Sarah Paulson) as she goes from regular nurse to vicious tyrant. 

The series will open as she begins working at a psychiatric hospital in California which is conducting “some new and disturbing experiments” on its patients. 

"The wheels are always turning and as she infiltrates the mental health care system and those within it, Mildred's stylish exterior belies a growing darkness that has long been smoldering within, revealing that true monsters are made, not born” reads the official plot synopsis. 

Jon Jon Briones, Judy Davis, Finn Wittrock, Sharon Stone, Vincent D’Onofrio, Cynthia Nixon, Amanda Plummer and Corey Stoll round out the rest of the main cast. 

Actress Louise Fletcher won an Academy-Award back in 1976 for her portrayal of Nurse Ratched in Milos Foreman’s original film who viciously tormented those under her care. 

Murphy originally secured the rights for the project back in 2017 when Netflix gave him a straight two series order. 

While Paulson sat out the last season of Murphy’s smash-hit anthology American Horror Story it’s been confirmed she’ll return for the tenth installment which is due to air in October 2021. 

You can stream all nine seasons of American Horror Story on Netflix now. 

Source: Digital Spy 

Need help to find the best deal?

Get in touch with our expert team.

020 3974 9020

Our trusted providers

Need help? Get in touch

Call us: 020 3974 9020

Send us a message

Keep updated

× Need help choosing the best deal?
Call us on 020 3974 9020