How to watch the 2024 PGA Championship | UK TV channel, history & more

Everything you’ll need to know ahead of the 2024 PGA Championship.

The second major of the PGA Tour is upon us this weekend as the players head to compete in the 2024 PGA Championship, the 106th edition of the tournament.

Everything is set for an exciting contest, and with it all teeing off on Thursday, find out all the information you’ll need ahead of the weekend, including how to watch and where it is this year, plus more general information about the major.

How to watch the 2024 PGA Championship?

You’ll be able to watch every moment of the action over the weekend from the moment the first group tees off till the final ball drops to the bottom of the cup on Sunday, all live on Sky Sports.

2024 PGA Championship on Sky Sports

Sky Sports is the exclusive home of the PGA Tour in the UK, so you’ll need to either be with Sky or if you already are, have a Sky Sports subscription to be able to tune in.

Live coverage of the tournament begins at 1pm on Thursday and Friday and at 2pm on Saturday and Sunday. There will also be a whole host of extra tournament coverage and programming throughout the weekend, even Tuesday and Wednesday before the actual competition begins.

Everything will be live and available to watch on Sky Sports’ dedicated golf channel, Sky Sports Golf.

Key times (all BST)

Tuesday: 2pm - 10pm – Live from the PGA Championship

Wednesday: 2pm - 10pm – Live from the PGA Championship

Thursday: 1pm - Midnight – Day One Live

Friday: 1pm - Midnight – Day Two Live

Saturday: 2pm - Midnight – Day Three Live

Sunday: 2pm - Midnight – Day Four Live

Tuesday and Wednesday will see live build-up of the competition from the course, with the latest news, interviews and updates ahead of play.

There will also be a plethora of official Sky Sports films from past PGA Championships throughout the week, including Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy’s past victories.

History of the PGA Championship

The PGA Championship was established in 1916 and was the fourth and final major of the year every year up until the 2019 edition when it was moved from mid-August to mid-May, where it now resides as the second major of the year after the Masters.

Getting technical with its origins, the PGA Championship began life being contested in early Autumn but would vary from May to December. It also ran a match-play format, which would often see the finalists play over 200 holes in seven days.

This was changed for the 1958 edition to the standard stroke play, 72-hole with 18 played each day from Thursday to Sunday.

The trophy presented to the winner, named the Wanamaker Trophy, was named after businessman Rodman Wanamaker. The winner each year is given the trophy to keep for one year until the next contest, as well as a smaller-sized replica they get to keep - along with their prize winnings.

When is the 2024 PGA Championship?

The 2024 PGA Championship will be played from Thursday 16th – Sunday 19th May.

Where is the 2024 PGA Championship being played?

This year, the PGA Championship will be contested at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky, USA, with 156 players making up the field.

This will be the fourth time it has hosted the PGA Championship, with the last edition coming in 2014 when Rory McIlroy won his last major to date and who is coincidentally one of this year's favourites.

Credit: 2024 PGA Championship at Valhalla Hype Video (PGA Championship, YouTube)

About Valhalla Golf Club

Valhalla Golf Club was established in 1986 and was designed in part by golfing legend Jack Nicklaus.

It has a standard length of 7,458 yards (6,820 m) and a par of 72, although, for the PGA Championship this year, the course will be playing 7,609 yards (6,958 m) and has a par of 71. There are three par-5s and four par-3s, with the longest hole being a whopping 597 yards and the shortest, named Thor’s Hammer, being 190 yards, the only hole under 200 yards.

As mentioned, Valhalla Golf Club has hosted the PGA Championship three times, in 1996, 2000 and 2014. As well as that, it also hosted the 2008 Ryder Cup which the United States won.

The course record, a 63 (nine-under), was shot by Jose Maria Olazabal in the 2000 edition of the tournament. He shot that on the Saturday, but despite it, only finished tied-fourth, with Tiger Woods winning that year.

2024 PGA Championship field

As former winners are invited to compete each year for life, there are many of these past champions who are part of this year's field, including McIlroy, Woods, last year's champion and three-time winner Brooks Koepka, Phil Mickelson, Justin Thomas and Collin Morikawa.

As well as them are a great collection of other top players, including the reigning Masters champion and tournament favourite Scottie Scheffler, Jon Rahm, Bryson DeChambeau, Wyndham Clark, Viktor Hovland, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler and many more.

2024 PGA Championship prize money

The 2024 PGA Championship purse is yet to be announced, although it is expected to be similar to that of last year’s, which was $17.5m.

Koepka, who won in 2023, took home $3.5m. That is significantly up from the $500 Jim Barnes, the first-ever championship winner, won in 1916 (even with inflation that’s only worth $14,327).

PGA Championship winners

Credit: Brooks Koepka Lifts the Wanamaker Trophy | 2023 PGA Championship (PGA Championship, YouTube)

There have been numerous players who have won multiple PGA Championship titles, with the most being five by Walter Hagen and Jack Nicklaus.

There have been (unsurprisingly) a great number more American winners than any other nationality, with the last non-US winner being Jason Day in 2015.

Altogether, there have been 72 unique winners of the PGA Championship.

Past 5 winners

The last five tournaments have seen only one unique winner in Morikawa. Koepka won two back-to-back in 2018 and 2019 and then his third in last year's edition, making him another tournament favourite this year.

Thomas’ two wins are his only two major wins on the tour and came six years apart. The only player with a bigger gap between wins than that was 2021 champion Phil Mickelson, who won his first one in 2005, 16 years before his second.

2023 – Brooks Koepka (3)

2022 – Justin Thomas (2)

2021 – Phil Mickelson (2)

2020 – Colin Morikawa

2019 – Brooks Koepka (2)

All-time records

Most wins

Jack Nicklaus (stroke play) & Walter Hagen (match play) – 5

Youngest winner

Gene Sarazen – 20 years, 174 days (1922)

Oldest winner

Phil Mickelson – 50 years & 11 months (2021)

Most consecutive wins

Match play – Walter Hagen, 4 (1924-1927)

Stroke play – Tiger Woods & Brooks Koepka, 2 (Woods achieved twice – 1999 & 2000, 2006 & 2007) (Koepka achieved once – 2018 & 2019)

Biggest winning margin (stroke play)

Rory McIlroy – 8 strokes (2012)

Lowest score over 72 holes

Brooks Koepka – 264 (-16)

Most strokes under par for 72 holes

Jason Day – 268 (-20) (joint-record under par score in all majors)

Championship record (18-hole score)

63 – Achieved by 17 players

Call an expert image

Need help to find the best deal?

Get in touch with our expert team.

020 4525 0221

Our trusted providers

  • Sky logo
  • BT logo
  • Virgin Media logo
  • TalkTalk logo
  • Now logo
  • Freeview logo

Need help? Get in touch

Call us: 020 4525 0221

Send us a message

Don't miss our latest deals

Sign up to receive unmissable offers and the latest news on TV, broadband, energy, phones and more.

Information regarding how we process your data can be found in our Privacy Policy.
× Need help choosing a great deal?
Call us on 020 4525 0221